Stage Set for Karnataka Legislative Council Chairman Election

chairman election

Karnataka is all set for the Legislative Council chairman election on February 9. JD(S) MLC Basavaraj Horatti, supported by the BJP, and Congress’ Naseer Ahmed are in the running and filed their nominations on Monday.

Horatti, flanked by BJP and JD(S) MLCs, filed his papers before the Council Secretary, while Ahmed was accompanied by Congress legislators.

The election comes after the resignation of Congress’ K Prathapachandra Shetty as the chairman on Feburary 4 to pre-empt a no-confidence motion against him by the ruling BJP with the support of JD(S).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here